Heart Installation

Heart Installation

I come out of the shower to find the whole apartment peppered with hearts. B has tagged the bed, table, chest of drawers, floor, wall, door, piano with heart-shaped post-it notes. I quickly grab the camera – B has put up an impromptu art installation. The pattern is spontaneous and organic; as natural as say the skeletal patterns on a leaf or stain marks left by rain on a monsoon drain. Wabi-sabi, as I know it.

“It’s a pretend Valentine’s Day,” she says. I interview her on our digicam, “What does Valentine Day mean?” 

“It’s a special day, that’s why we are putting up lots of hearts,” she quips and then runs off tagging more stuff, leaving a trail of hearts on the floor.

She circles back, “Valentine’s Day means it’s a happy day!” 

Gleefully, she tags a heart on my back, and runs off again.

This entry was posted in Motherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment